Brief history of EBCTCG including formation of Steering Committee

1983/84 saw the start of the collaboration and in 1985 the Early Breast Cancer Trialists' Collaborative Group was founded. There was an Executive Committee, which during 1985 – 2005 was led by Mike Baum, Henning Mouridsen, Craig Henderson and Bill Wood. There was also an Overview Update Group, which was chaired by Aron Goldhirsch. This was replaced by the Steering Committee in 2005/6.

At the EBCTCG main meeting in Oxford on 21-23 September 2005 a provisional EBCTCG Steering Committee was proposed for consideration by EBCTCG members. Kathy Pritchard and Bill Wood were co-chairs of EBCTCG at this time. At the meeting, it was agreed that Martine Piccart would be invited to serve as incoming co-chair of EBCTCG, to accompany Kathy Pritchard, the continuing co-chair. The list of those to be invited to join the Steering Committee was finalised in December 2005 and the Steering Committee first met formally in June 2006. At the Steering Committee meeting in June 2012, Jonas Bergh took over from Martine Piccart as co-chair of EBCTCG. In May 2013 the first patient representative, Elizabeth Bergsten-Nordström (then President of Europa Donna), was invited to join the Steering Committee. At the Steering Committee meeting in June 2018, Sandra Swain and David Cameron were made vice-chairs of the Steering Committee (and, by extension, EBCTCG). After the June 2018 meeting, Sandra Swain took over from Kathy Pritchard as cochair, to serve alongside Jonas Bergh. Patient representation was also increased. There are four patient representatives on the Steering Committee at present.

The current members of the Steering Committee are listed below:

Members of the EBCTCG Steering Committee

Weinbers of the LDC1CG Steerin	ig committee	
Co-chairs and vice-chair		
Jonas Bergh	SWEDEN	co-chair
Sandra Swain	USA	co-chair
David Cameron	UK	medical oncology, vice-chair
Patient representatives		
Elizabeth Bergsten-Nordström	SWEDEN	representing EUROPA DONNA (Past President)
Almona Choudhury	UK	UK patient representative
Tanja Spanic	SLOVENIA	representing EUROPA DONNA (President)
Patty Spears	USA	US patient representative
Other members (excluding ex offici	io members & members of	
Kathy Albain	USA	med oncol, trials, special populations, survivorship
Stewart Anderson	USA	statistics
Karla Ballman	USA	statistics
John Bartlett Judith Bliss	UK UK	pathology, biology, predictive diagnostics statistics
Etienne Brain	FRANCE	medical oncology
Lisa Carey	USA	medical oncology
Robert Coleman	UK	medical oncology
Jack Cuzick	UK	statistics, hormone therapy trials
Nancy Davidson	USA	medical oncology, hormone therapy trials
Lucia Del Mastro	ITALY	medical oncology
James Dignam	USA	statistics
Bent Ejlertsen	DENMARK	medical oncology
Theodoros Foukakis	SWEDEN	medical oncology
Prue Francis	AUSTRALIA	medical oncology
José Angel García-Sáenz	SPAIN	medical oncology
Richard Gelber	USA	statistics
Michael Gnant Matthew Goetz	AUSTRIA USA	surgical oncology, trials, biomarkers medical oncology
Pam Goodwin	CANADA	medical oncology
Valentina Guarneri	ITALY	medical oncology
Catherine Hill	FRANCE	statistics
Reshma Jagsi	USA	radiation oncology
Wolfgang Janni	GERMANY	breast surgery/gynaecological oncology
Sibylle Loibl	GERMANY	medical oncology
Terry Mamounas	USA	surgical oncology
Stuart McIntosh	UK	surgical oncology
Allison Meisner	USA	statistics
Hirofumi Mukai		medical oncology
Valentina Nekljudova	GERMANY USA	statistics medical oncology
Larry Norton Martine Piccart	BELGIUM	medical oncology
Philip Poortmans	BELGIUM	radiation oncology
Kathleen Pritchard	CANADA	honorary past co-chair
Vinod Raina	INDIA	medical oncology, cancer registry
Daniel Rea	UK	medical oncology
Meredith Regan	USA	statistics
John Robertson	UK	surgical oncology
Shigehira Saji	JAPAN	medical oncology
Roberto Salgado	BELGIUM	pathology
Priyanka Sharma	USA USA	medical oncology
Dennis Slamon Joseph Sparano	USA	medical oncology medical oncology
Guenther Steger	AUSTRIA	medical oncology
Gong Tang	USA	statistics
Masakazu Toi	JAPAN	surgical oncology
Andrew Tutt	UK	clinical oncology
Frederieke van Duijnhoven	NETHERLANDS	surgical oncology
Giuseppe Viale	ITALY	pathology
Xiang Wang	CHINA	surgical oncology
Tim Whelan	CANADA	radiation oncology, quality of life
Nicholas Wilcken	AUSTRALIA	medical oncology
Antonio Wolff	USA	medical oncology
Norman Wolmark		surgical oncology
Ke-Da Yu	CHINA	surgical oncology
Ex officio members		

Harold Burstein